Early South Somerset results point to LibDem win

The early results from South Somerset have thrown up a number of surprises. No-one will have been particularly surprised that Lib Dems Peter Seib and Jenny Snell were elected for the Brympton division on the edge of Yeovil. However the victory of LibDems Sarah Dyke and Nicola Clark in Blackmoor Vale certainly comes as a surprise. This is usually safe Conservative country. One of the Conservative candidates, William Wallace is a long serving member of the county council and a former cabinet member.

In Coker LibDems Mike Hewitson and Patrick Oliver both won with a comfortable margin. Third placed David Janes was over 500 votes behind them.

In Castle Cary, Chard South and Chard North the votes were split. In each case one Conservative and one Lib Dem was elected. For the LibDems Jason Baker, Jenny Kenton and Mike Hobhouse were elected. For the Conservatives Mike Lewis, Martin Wale and Connor Payne were elected.

To date the race in South Somerset has been very much a two horse race. Only Tim Eggins in Chard South came close. He came fourth behind the second LibDem candidate with 813 votes (the two winners had 928 and 903 votes).

So far then in South Somerset, there are 9 LibDems and 3 Conservatives.

Leave a Reply