Another resignation at Somerton

The Leveller has become aware of yet another resignation at Somerton Town Council.

At the last town council meeting there was something of a disagreement over the council’s co-option policy. Prior to the meeting two councillors had resigned as well as the clerk Jude Raybould.

Readers may remember that the day after last week’s town council meeting Martyn Smith resigned. Now we understand that Brian Raybould has also resigned.

This leaves four vacancies on the council. Whilst there may be some uncertainty over the co-option policy, for the moment the council will have to offer the towns folk the possibility of an election.

As there was a gap between the resignations there have been two formal notices of election. This is where the rules get silly. Having four vacancies in a matter of weeks, they cannot all be put down to one call for an election.

Instead the rules dictate that 10 electors have to ask for an election before 27th July for the first two vacancies and another 10 electors (not literally, it could be the same 10) by 7th August for the second two.

Any request for an election must be submitted in writing to the Proper Officer of the South Somerset District Council at the Council Offices, Brympton Way, Yeovil, Somerset BA20 2HT,

Leave a Reply